Tech Tip 🔒Keep your Files Secure 🔒 Force a Copy / Force a presentation

Collaborating and sharing work is so easy with Google, but sometimes we don't want others to accidentally change our original file. 

(Read details below or CLICK HERE for the 5 min. video tutorial) How to FORCE A COPY? (works for all G-Suite Apps) You can force a copy by deleting the "edit" text from the URL and replacing with "copy" Then click Enter. Copy and paste this new link wherever you need to. It will open and the viewer will be forced to select "make a copy" before the document opens (see image below). (**NOTE: Make sure your doc is marked to anyone with the link can view)

How to FORCE A GOOGLE SLIDE PRESENTATION? Perhaps you want to share a slide presentation, but you want the audience to view in presentation mode. You can force viewing to presentation mode by deleting the "edit" text from the URL and replacing with "present" Then click Enter. Copy and paste this new link wherever you need to. Instead of this:

You want this:

BONUS TIP: Have you ever noticed when you press "Share" there is a settings icon in the top right? When you share documents, click on the settings icon to control more sharing features.



Use these settings to limit your editors, viewers, and commenters access.  (For example, you can share with viewers but not allow them to make copies.)

Have a great week!